Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

IBC Webinar: The credibility of bariatric surgery registries

Thu, 04/29/2021 - 15:05
Posted in:

The International Bariatric Club has announced the 34th IBC-University of Oxford Hot Topics in Surgery Webinar will take place on Tuesday, May 4th. The webinar, Chaired by Professors Estuardo Behrens (Guatemala) and Ariel Ortiz-Lagardere (USA/Mexico), will examine the ‘Credibility of bariatric surgery registries’, and will be moderated by Professor Salman K Al-Sabah (Kuwait), Dr Ben Clapp (USA) and Professor Antonio Claudio Jamel Coelho (Brazil).

The IBC is delighted that the webinar will feature three world-class presentations by experts on bariatric databases and registries. The first presentation by Dr Peter Walton (University of Cambridge and Managing Director of Dendrite Clinical Systems Ltd, UK) will look at the ‘Pitfalls with Data Entry by the Operating Surgeon in Bariatric Surgery Registries’. Dr Walton will be followed by Dr Matthew Kroh (Institute Chair, General Surgery, Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi, UAE), who will discuss the ‘Capturing Long Term Complications of Bariatric Surgery - the Achilles Heel of Bariatric Surgery Registries’. The final presentation will be by past ASMBS President, Professor Matthew Hutter (Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard University & President: ASMBS), who will examine ‘The Role of the Independent Data Administrator to Ensure Accurate Data Entry and Credibility of Registry Data.

Members of the Discussion Panel will include Professor Almino Ramos (Brazil), Dr Bekkhan Khatsiev (Russia), Dr Ali Almontashery (Saudi Arabia), Dr Sonja Chiappetta (Italy), Dr Ritu Khare (UAE), Dr Jaideepraj Rao (Singapore), Dr Omar Ghanem (USA), Dr C-k Huang (Taiwan), Mr Bruno Sgromo (UK), Dr Reynu Rajan (Malaysia) and Dr Simon Wong (Hong Kong).

The webinar can be viewed at 08.00-09.30 PDT, 11.00-12.30 EDT, 12.00-13.30 Brazil, 16.00-17.30 BST, 17.00-18.30 CEST and 23.00-00.30 in Malaysia/Singapore/Hong Kong/Taiwan and will be available to view on the IBC’s YouTube channel.

To find out more about this event, please click here

To register for this event, please click here